Ask anyone if they thought I was submissive, and you would hear an emphatic, “No!” I’m outspoken, impatient, and stubborn. My bachelor’s degree emphasized women’s studies, and I consider myself a feminist. I describe myself as bold, opinionated, and determined.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t be a submissive wife.

I began my journey as a submissive wife in 2014 by reading a random article from The Daily Beast that criticized couples who’ve embraced this lifestyle. Despite the article’s negative tone, submissive relationships made sense to me. I felt something inside my heart that seemed to call me toward this lifestyle, and I drew up the courage to show my husband what I’d read. He was hesitant at first, but after a lot of talking and praying, we decided to move forward.

Colossians 3:18 – Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord.

Ephesians 5:22-23 – 22 Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.

These verses called out to me. If God’s word said that I should submit to my husband like we are to submit to Christ, then why shouldn’t I follow this teaching? Now, after a year of working toward submission, I feel called to share my story via this blog. Some of what you read here might not make sense to you, but documenting this journey keeps me accountable and helps me to submit even more.

