ImplementsThere is a lot of buzz about Christian Domestic Discipline (CDD) right now. Mostly there is criticism about the methods that it entails. However, others agree that it follows God’s teachings about wives’ submission to their husbands. I am one of those people. I am not an expert on the subject, but I am learning every day about it. My husband agrees, and we talk about it almost daily.

The criticism of CDD generally relates to the methods that husbands and wives use to enforce submission. It’s taboo to talk about it in most circles. But I don’t consider it taboo. Simply: I am spanked when I fail to submit to my husband.

That’s right. My husband spanks me. And I choose to be spanked. This is part of my submission to him. Each time he brings out the belt, each time he carries the paddle, each time he raises his hand to deliver a spanking, I am submitting to my husband.

Let’s be clear here. My husband does not abuse me. He doesn’t beat me or demean me. The CDD lifestyle is something we choose to follow. I don’t like the spankings, but I consent to them because I am submitting to him. This is referred to as non-consentual consent. My husband makes the decision about when to spank–or when to administer other forms of discipline–and I submit to his will because we have a contract that says he knows what is best for us as husband and wife.

I agree that to this discipline because CDD is a reminder of what God’s teachings say about submission: Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything. (Ephesians 5:22-24)

There are lots of resources available to people who want to learn more about CDD. Two of the best I’ve found are www.learningdd.com and www.christiandomesticdiscipline.com.

