Discipline1As I’m pondering Night 4 of the discipline that’s waiting for me at bedtime, I’m thinking about God’s words in 1 Timothy 2:11: Let a woman learn quietly with all submissiveness. I clearly need more practice at this.

I’m a learner by nature. Give me a book, a documentary, or a lecture, and I’m thrilled to collect new information. I would be enrolled in college for the rest of my life if I won the lottery, just soaking up information.

My problem is that I don’t always apply what I’ve learned. I’ll take copious notes from books or readings. I’ll carry around a notebook to record things I observe or hear. A lot of times, however, I don’t put it into practice.

As my husband says, “You’re a hard worker, but you lack discipline and follow-through.” And as much as I hate to admit it, he’s right.

But God’s teaching reminds me that my job is to learn quietly with all submissiveness. For example, rather than trying to defend myself during last night’s lecture, I should have sat quietly on my sore bottom and focused on my husband’s words more than I did. I needed to hear what he had to say, and I need to work on my bad habits and laziness around the house.

If I am going to be submissive, I need to be quiet. I have a biting tongue when I’m angry, and I like to argue. I want to have the last word. That’s failing at submission. So I need to practice what I’m learning, really take in and feel God’s words. I need to embrace what I’ve read in my submission/CDD resources. I can learn just fine, but I need to be quiet and focused on what I need to do, which is to be submissive to my husband as he is the head of our household.

