MoneyI’m bad with money. I always have been. I mentioned in a previous post that I was a spoiled child. This has carried over into my adult life. I’m an impulse shopper who likes her clothes, books, and purses. Those obsessions turned into a good amount of credit card debt – more than a good amount, actually.

In contrast, my husband is very frugal. He rarely spends money on himself, and he looks for sales at every opportunity. My brain doesn’t work like his when it comes to money. I spend. He saves.

Obviously this can be an issue in our marriage. We’ve paid off nearly all the credit card debt, and we don’t spend much money on entertainment now. We have fun ordering pizza and watching a Redbox movie for family night rather than going out to a more expensive restaurant. My husband handles all of the bills, and he holds on to the credit card. This has helped a lot in saving money, but I personally have a lot of work to do.

I used to rely on my credit and debit cards far more than cash, and I spent money daily. A few dollars a day, a take-out lunch a couple of times a week all led to me needlessly spending money. My husband checks our bank accounts daily, and he often asked why I had made a purchase.

This is why my husband started giving me an allowance every week. When I’ve researched submission and CDD, many testimonies include mention of wives overspending. That research encouraged me to talk with my husband about the topic. We decided that he would give me this allowance every Sunday so that I could learn to manage my money better. I am to use our family money for essentials like toiletries and medicine unless he gives me the okay to purchase other things. I’m free, however, to spend my allowance as I see fit.

I don’t like the allowance. I don’t like thinking about what I’m going to buy and how much I need to budget for the week. I’m a voracious reader, and it’s easy to buy Kindle books for my iPad. If I buy a book, my husband subtracts that amount from the next week’s allowance, which is a reminder of how fast my money disappears. I also have Diet Coke and nicotine addictions. This all means that $40 doesn’t last as long as I thought it would originally.

But, this is part of submission. My husband knows how to budget and how to spend wisely. It would be easy for him to not spend $40 over three weeks rather than blowing it all in one week like I do. This feels shameful on my part. So, as I count my remaining $5s and $1s for this week, I am thinking about what I can do to curb my spending even more. Here are some ideas:

  1. Purchase one Diet Coke every morning instead of two. This will lower the costs and help me overcome this addiction.
  2. Cut down on cigarettes to make a pack last three days instead of two. This will help me ease out of this addiction.
  3. For every book that I want to buy, I should read one of the unread books on my shelf. I have a lot of them, and the series I read will still be available after two weeks instead of immediately.
  4. Try to save $5 per week. I need to set a goal of a big purchase so that I can work toward that instead of spending my money frivolously each week.

I’m going to share these goals with my husband. He might think that they’re too lofty or he might think they’re great. No matter his response, I think I need to do this to submit even more to his decisions about money and our family.

Hebrews 13:5: Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.

