laughter-medicineYesterday I turned my husband’s joke into an argument. How did I do that, you might ask? It’s a simple answer, really. I’m too prideful and thin-skinned.

Once I got home from work yesterday afternoon, I folded laundry and loaded the dishwasher, but I didn’t turn on the dishwasher because I wanted to run it at night instead of during the hot afternoon. I didn’t think much of it. I was happy with myself for helping out in the house. These were simple things, but most days I’m too tired to do anything right after work. I knew that my husband would be satisfied when he came home.

Then, when he got home, he made a sarcastic joke about me not turning on the dishwasher. He was kidding with me, but I took it as a scolding-and I was embarrassed that my stepdaughter was standing in the doorway hearing this conversation. I asked him if we could talk about it in private. Once she left, I started bickering with him, telling him that I didn’t appreciate his comments in front of his daughter when I thought he was scolding me. He looked incredulously at me, like he had no idea what I was talking about. He just heard me arguing with him.

We settled the argument fairly quickly, but he lectured me about being too thin-skinned, so much so that he feels he can’t say anything without me turning it around into a fight. He reminded me that I am really a good person and that he appreciated what I had done, but that I needed to improve my listening skills and learn to sometimes just shut my mouth.

I’m working on it.

1 Peter 5:5 – Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.

